McDougall Mill Museum - Renfrew, ON

Come and explore the history of the Town of Renfrew and surrounding area! The McDougall Mill Museum is home to thousands of artifacts that depict Renfrew's early days, and is a true family-friendly museum. Our most cherished artifact is the Museum itself. This beautiful stone mill was built in 1855 by fur trader and Hudson’s Bay Company agent, John Lorn McDougall. Used originally as a grist mill, the building was renovated and reopened as a museum in 1969. Situated in picturesque O’Brien Park, the mill cradles the second chute of the Bonnechere River and overlooks the town’s historic Swinging Bridge.

The museum has a variety of displays, dispersed throughout three floors. The main floor is home to music-related artifacts, Renfrew souvenirs, Renfrew Electric items, a reading corner for avid learners, photography equipment from The Handford Photography Studio, and more.

Upstairs features fashion through the ages, for all ages. There are also various textiles on display, as well as a military showcase. You can have a vintage photo taken in suitable attire for $10.

The basement floor is home to multiple different farming tools and farming equipment, industrial ware like the original ice boxes from Barnet Refrigeration Co., and more.

Everything in the museum has been donated from people of Renfrew and surrounding area. Come and see our amazing collection!

65 Arthur Avenue,
Renfrew, Ontario K7V 3S1